6

The Truth and its Shadow: Rise of Superficial Intelligence

To understand something "on the level of words" is fairly common phrase used to denote someone's superficiality. However, there's more depth to superficiality than initially meets the eye. In this podcast we'll point out some of the depths of what we previously dubbed, in Plato's phrase, skiagraphia or "shadow-drawing"; a mental equivalent of drawing the shadow of the image on plane surface to add to it the illusion of depth. We'll point out, in our common "metaphysician next door" manner, how this attitude drives people to cut themselves off, not only from the realities of the world, but, more perniciously, of their very selves too.

So, it is a bit obsolete to wail and grumble about the dangers of supposed rise of the robotic Artificial Intelligence, when we are already dealing with the real and present danger of supremacy of the Superficial Intelligence

0

Miscellanea: Keeping to the Form

In the previous quote from Plutarch’s "Life of Aemilius Paulus", we reflected a bit on the transitory nature of everything “under the Sun” and on the delusion behind the notion of progress. We offer one more excerpt from the same life, this time on a different topic.

4

Words, Bywords and Apparent Truths: Danger of Anachronisms and How to Combat Them

The problem of anachronisms is very well known, yet not seldom perpetuated, in the scholarly circles. Yet, what influence do they exercise on our every day living and do they solely represent the errors of academics?

In this podcast we address the pressing issue of conflating meanings of the words that give birth to the worst form of lie - apparent truth.

1

Miscellanea: On Serious Man

Social justice and equality are enemies of the serious man and thus of all humanity. How and why, one might ask. Well, in our weekly miscellanea we'll let Aristotle give us a hint.

8

Paragons of Subhumanity: On Post-birth Abortion and Other Merry Subjects

A long winded discussion between yours truly and Deirdre of Luminar Podcast initiated by academic advocacy of infanticide or, as authors of 2012 article "After-birth abortion: why should the baby live?" we use as the starting point call it: after-birth abortion.

However, and not surprisingly, this podcast covers much more than this peculiar form of high brow nihilism.

Discussion touches upon, among other things:

problem of person and the reality of soul, Christianity and paganism, Hegel and the  philosophy of absolute subject, posthumanism, euthanasia, abortion and vulnerability of women, reaction from the Right, impossibility of traditionalist revolution and dangers stemming thereof, Thomas Aquinas, Plato, Aristotle, Anaxagoras, science and science fiction, Alexander Dugin, resurgence of history after its supposed end in liberal utopia, forgiveness, Down syndrome

and much, much more.

0

Miscellanea: On Vanity, Loss and Redemption of Time

KT introduces a new form of article named miscellanea, in the vein of Ancient and Hellenistic designation for treating various subjects in non-systematic manner  - short interpretations of various passages drawn from a variety of sources – ancient authors, the lives of saints, classical or more contemporary authors and others.

At the end we give moral of  the  stories, just like in the good old days when drawing a morally uplifting conclusion from the story was not something to frown at.

We present the excerpt from Plutarch’s Parallel Lives - The life of the Roman general Lucius Aemilius Paulus.

1

Basic Notions of Metaphysics: Friendship

It can appear that having a buddy or two doesn't make one all too metaphysical. Well, not according to Aristotle and with him, more or less, the whole of metaphysical tradition. Friendship - Philia - is an ontological mood disclosing far more than meets the eye, the fact that is all to eagerly forgotten in our day and age; and this forgetfulness of what lies in the background of the basic form of inter-human relations bear grave consequences - even as deprived as the choice of nothingness over Being. Join KT in taking a peek behind the veil of an average day in our average lives to glimpse not so average metaphysical and ethical abyss casually obscured by it.

1

Theosophism: Rene Guenon’s Cut at the Roots of Modern Pseudoreligions

Rene Guenon's book Theosophism: A History of Pseudo-Religion is more than just a demolition of 19th Century quack religion: it is, as our friend Deirdre of Luminar Podcast demonstrates in this video, a critique of some fundamental principles modern people take to be absolute truths - the uneasy fact that Theosophism was, and in certain circles still is, quite an adequate religion for people who fancy themselves world leaders.

6

Deprivation and Depravity: The Difference Between Traditional and Modern Notions of Evil

In this podcast we inspect the differences between traditional and modern understanding of evil as metaphysical notion; we point out the  crucial difference in mentality displayed by this differentiation - the one considering man's place in the world.

It is customarily to take the traditional notion of Evil as corruption of Good, as naive, not realistic enough or plain childish.

We argue that this belief is a tell tale sign of modernity coming to blows with its historical ancestry, because this idea dawns only when attempt is being made to understand evil as a real, positive, principle, i.e. in itself, as opposed to trying to understand it on the basis of the reality of Good, whose privation it in fact is.

Through some examples, a bit of analysis and even an anecdote or two, we point out how dangerous, vain and wrong headed this belief is.