Category: Miscellanea

0

Miscellanea: The Weight of the World

From all the measures God applied to this world of ours, the weight seems to be the bothersome one. Or is it? In this Miscellanea we'll employ the help of St. Thomas Aquinas to resolve this difficulty.

15

Miscellanea: Color Me Absurd-ed

There's something so inspiring and at the same time so adolescent like in the rebellion against the world, "West", "rationality", and other overwhelming terms of which we are only vaguely aware what they mean. In this Micellanea we contrast this absolutely modern, yet not seldom past oriented, mentality with the authentic voice from the past - one of St. Augustine of Hippo.

0

Miscellanea: Keeping to the Form

In the previous quote from Plutarch’s "Life of Aemilius Paulus", we reflected a bit on the transitory nature of everything “under the Sun” and on the delusion behind the notion of progress. We offer one more excerpt from the same life, this time on a different topic.

1

Miscellanea: On Serious Man

Social justice and equality are enemies of the serious man and thus of all humanity. How and why, one might ask. Well, in our weekly miscellanea we'll let Aristotle give us a hint.

0

Miscellanea: On Vanity, Loss and Redemption of Time

KT introduces a new form of article named miscellanea, in the vein of Ancient and Hellenistic designation for treating various subjects in non-systematic manner  - short interpretations of various passages drawn from a variety of sources – ancient authors, the lives of saints, classical or more contemporary authors and others.

At the end we give moral of  the  stories, just like in the good old days when drawing a morally uplifting conclusion from the story was not something to frown at.

We present the excerpt from Plutarch’s Parallel Lives - The life of the Roman general Lucius Aemilius Paulus.