12

Luminar Podcast: From Illiteracy to Illusion

From Atlantic to Black Sea via Adriatic, we bring you another Luminar Podcat hosted by Deirdre and joined by Mihai and yours truly. Wide range of subjects are covered - from rampaging illiteracy amongst the young to the answer to question: how illusion can be real. In the meantime, we don't neglect to address standard KT subjects: memes and mass scale Internet based occultism, inversion of traditional metaphysical notions, synchronicity and few other light talking points.

15

Miscellanea: Color Me Absurd-ed

There's something so inspiring and at the same time so adolescent like in the rebellion against the world, "West", "rationality", and other overwhelming terms of which we are only vaguely aware what they mean. In this Micellanea we contrast this absolutely modern, yet not seldom past oriented, mentality with the authentic voice from the past - one of St. Augustine of Hippo.

15

Words and Time

Speaking about the origins of all is a daunting task, impossible by some accounts. However, speaking about the origins of speaking itself is, supposedly, quite doable. In this podcast we'll put this assumption to the test. We focus on the temporal dimension of language in its original and deepest form, i.e. language as a tool of metaphysics, and claim that this dimension is the eternal past - that behind which we can never step, whether in thought or word. Consequently, we discuss subjects stemming from this insight: nature of Tradition, words of unknown origin but perfectly nuanced meaning, impossibility of fundamentally new beginnings, errors of modern philosophy, Science Fiction and enduring illusion of human creativity. (Paypalable bonus: you get to learn some Croatian in the process)

6

The Truth and its Shadow: Rise of Superficial Intelligence

To understand something "on the level of words" is fairly common phrase used to denote someone's superficiality. However, there's more depth to superficiality than initially meets the eye. In this podcast we'll point out some of the depths of what we previously dubbed, in Plato's phrase, skiagraphia or "shadow-drawing"; a mental equivalent of drawing the shadow of the image on plane surface to add to it the illusion of depth. We'll point out, in our common "metaphysician next door" manner, how this attitude drives people to cut themselves off, not only from the realities of the world, but, more perniciously, of their very selves too.

So, it is a bit obsolete to wail and grumble about the dangers of supposed rise of the robotic Artificial Intelligence, when we are already dealing with the real and present danger of supremacy of the Superficial Intelligence

0

Miscellanea: Keeping to the Form

In the previous quote from Plutarch’s "Life of Aemilius Paulus", we reflected a bit on the transitory nature of everything “under the Sun” and on the delusion behind the notion of progress. We offer one more excerpt from the same life, this time on a different topic.

4

Words, Bywords and Apparent Truths: Danger of Anachronisms and How to Combat Them

The problem of anachronisms is very well known, yet not seldom perpetuated, in the scholarly circles. Yet, what influence do they exercise on our every day living and do they solely represent the errors of academics?

In this podcast we address the pressing issue of conflating meanings of the words that give birth to the worst form of lie - apparent truth.

1

Miscellanea: On Serious Man

Social justice and equality are enemies of the serious man and thus of all humanity. How and why, one might ask. Well, in our weekly miscellanea we'll let Aristotle give us a hint.

8

Paragons of Subhumanity: On Post-birth Abortion and Other Merry Subjects

A long winded discussion between yours truly and Deirdre of Luminar Podcast initiated by academic advocacy of infanticide or, as authors of 2012 article "After-birth abortion: why should the baby live?" we use as the starting point call it: after-birth abortion.

However, and not surprisingly, this podcast covers much more than this peculiar form of high brow nihilism.

Discussion touches upon, among other things:

problem of person and the reality of soul, Christianity and paganism, Hegel and the  philosophy of absolute subject, posthumanism, euthanasia, abortion and vulnerability of women, reaction from the Right, impossibility of traditionalist revolution and dangers stemming thereof, Thomas Aquinas, Plato, Aristotle, Anaxagoras, science and science fiction, Alexander Dugin, resurgence of history after its supposed end in liberal utopia, forgiveness, Down syndrome

and much, much more.

0

Miscellanea: On Vanity, Loss and Redemption of Time

KT introduces a new form of article named miscellanea, in the vein of Ancient and Hellenistic designation for treating various subjects in non-systematic manner  - short interpretations of various passages drawn from a variety of sources – ancient authors, the lives of saints, classical or more contemporary authors and others.

At the end we give moral of  the  stories, just like in the good old days when drawing a morally uplifting conclusion from the story was not something to frown at.

We present the excerpt from Plutarch’s Parallel Lives - The life of the Roman general Lucius Aemilius Paulus.