Tagged: time

0

Miscellanea: On Vanity, Loss and Redemption of Time

KT introduces a new form of article named miscellanea, in the vein of Ancient and Hellenistic designation for treating various subjects in non-systematic manner  - short interpretations of various passages drawn from a variety of sources – ancient authors, the lives of saints, classical or more contemporary authors and others.

At the end we give moral of  the  stories, just like in the good old days when drawing a morally uplifting conclusion from the story was not something to frown at.

We present the excerpt from Plutarch’s Parallel Lives - The life of the Roman general Lucius Aemilius Paulus.

5

What’s to be Done: On Holy Indifference Pt.1

How to beat discrepancies of modern living: half of your life you are corporate drone, waiter or construction worker and the other half you might just be striving for sainthood. Yet, as Mihai Marinescu tells us in this two part Eastern European self-help manual for aspiring rebels against the modern world, this is impossible. Then, what am I to do, one might ask? Well, gird yourselves with focus and patience and take a dip in this long and poignant analysis. We won't spoil too much for you if we give answer in advance: You can do what you can.

Sounds simple? It is anything but.